Arizona Seat Belt Laws 2021

Palm Tree

Safety laws are made for our own good, whether we like them or not. At Gerber Injury Law, we’re always fighting for the rights of our clients, who are many times the victims of those who have broken the law.

Wearing a seatbelt isn’t always comfortable but it is the law and they keep drivers and passengers safe. At Gerber Injury Law, we know the importance of seat belts and even child restraint devices. Our Phoenix car accident attorneys see many cases where injury and death could have been prevented if the law was followed.

Seat Belt Laws in AZ

Who is Required to Wear a Seatbelt?

As a driver, you’re responsible to make sure everyone in your car under the age of 16 is wearing a lap and shoulder seat belt. The only exception is for some middle seats that don’t have a shoulder belt. In this case, the lap belt must still be fastened. Otherwise, you could get slapped with a fine for each child not wearing one. Passengers 16 years old or older in the front seat can also get cited individually for not wearing a safety belt.

In Arizona, it’s required that all children under 8 years old be in a child restraint device and if they’re 4’9” tall and under. A required booster seat is required for children 5 to 7 years old and if they’re 4’9” tall and under. Once your child is at least 8 years old or taller than 4’9” a vehicle’s safety belt is sufficient. Any child under the age of five has to be in a child safety seat, no matter how big or tall they might be.

Fines for Not Wearing a Seat Belt

The fines in Arizona for violating the safety belt depend on how many people in your vehicle are not wearing them when you’re pulled over. In most cases, the first offense will result in a $10 fine per person. In addition, if you have any children under the age of five in your car, not in a safety seat, you will be charged an additional fine of at least $50.

Arizona is a secondary seat belt law state meaning you can’t be pulled over just for not wearing your seatbelt. You have to be pulled over for another offense first.

The fines might not seem too expensive but if you’re involved in a car crash, keep in mind, your medical bills will cost, on average, 50% more if you were not wearing your seatbelt.

Child Seat Laws in Arizona


  • Used for children under 20 pounds and under 1 year old
  • The seat must face the rear of the car
  • All straps must be in place and snug


  • Used for children under 40 pounds
  • The seat can face the rear or the front
  • All straps must be in place and snug


  • Used for children 40 to 80 pounds
  • Must use a harness or vest system or make use of the vehicle’s seat belts

Reasons for Using Seatbelts

At Gerber Injury Law, we can’t stress enough the importance of obeying Arizona’s seat belt law. Research shows that every 13 minutes, someone is killed in an automobile accident. Every nine seconds, someone is injured. At least one of those deaths in every four or five could have been prevented had the person been wearing a seatbelt.

The Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety is a great resource if you have any questions on child restraint seats. Here at Gerber Injury Law, we’re also glad to answer any questions about the state law.

Related Posts
  • What Is a “No-contact” Motorcycle Accident? Read More
  • Arizona Motorcycle Accident Laws – Avoid Serious Injury on Your Motorcycle Read More
  • Tips on Filing Medical Malpractice Claims in the Phoenix Metro Read More