The Personal Injury Law Firm
Where Everybody Knows Your Name

Request Your Free Consultation

If you or a loved one has been injured, don’t hesitate – contact our attorneys today!

Recent Articles

Arizona Motorcycle Permit Restrictions

arizona motorcycle permit restrictions

Riding a motorcycle is a beloved pastime in Arizona. There are more than 222,000 motorcycles registered in Arizona, and every year, this number grows significantly, with new generations wanting to get on the road.

To ensure that only those who are qualified to ride safely actually get on a bike, Arizona requires permits and licenses. But what do these entail, and what kind of restrictions do they have? A motorcycle accident lawyer can offer some guidance as you begin this journey.

Is It Necessary to Have a Motorcycle Permit in Arizona?

Not every potential rider will need to obtain a permit to ride a motorcycle in Arizona. Only those who are younger than 18 need to have a permit before being able to get their full license. 

The youngest you can be to obtain a permit is 15 years and six months old. You can then get an M permit that is valid for seven months. Applicants younger than 18 must have held the instruction permit for at least six months with a minimum of 30 driving hours before they can obtain their full motorcycle license.

To obtain your permit, you will need to pass a driver’s written test as well as a motorcycle operator’s written test. Those who have a driver’s license or hold a driver’s permit don’t need to retake the driver’s written test. They only need to take the motorcycle operator’s written test.

Are There Arizona Motorcycle Permit Restrictions?

To help keep the riders and other road users safe, Arizona poses some restrictions on those riding with a motorcycle permit.

You can ride a motorcycle, but you may not carry passengers. You can’t operate the motorcycle on interstate roads or freeways, and you’re not allowed to operate the bike between dusk and dawn or at any other moments when visibility is too low. You have to be able to see people and vehicles at a distance of 500 feet.

You’re also not allowed to ride the bike without the visual supervision of someone with a license.

If you violate any of these restrictions, your driving privileges can be suspended. In some cases, the violation can be recorded on your driving record. Fines may also apply. Adults who encourage or knowingly allow permit-holders to violate the restrictions can face legal liability.

How to Get Your License After Getting Your Permit

From the moment you obtain your permit, you have seven months to get your motorcycle license or endorsement. If you’re not able to accomplish this, you can apply for an extension of the permit. Keep in mind that you can only get one permit extension in 24 months.

The permit has to be in good standing when you go get your license or endorsement. You need to be at least 16 years old.

If you’re a temporary Arizona resident — including military personnel and out-of-state students — you can apply for a five-year motorcycle license.

Once you obtain your license, it doesn’t expire until you’re 65 years old. Drivers older than 60 can get their licenses renewed every five years. You will, however, need to take an eye exam and get a new photo every 12 years.

Arizona Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Everyone who rides a motorcycle in Arizona has to carry liability insurance. The minimum coverage requirements you must meet are $15,000 in property damage coverage, as well as $25,000 per individual for bodily injuries or $50,000 for two or more people.

If you don’t have the correct insurance, you could face severe fines and penalties. The first violation could mean a fee of $500, and the state could suspend or restrict your driving privileges for as long as three months.

For a second violation, you may have to pay $750 in fees and could face a state suspension of driving privileges for six months. This includes the suspension of the license plate and registration.

Third and subsequent violations could subject you to a fee of $1,000 and suspension of driving privileges, plates, and registration for up to a year.

Getting Into a Motorcycle Accident in Arizona

If you’ve been in a motorcycle accident in Arizona, it’s crucial that you reach out to a motorcycle accident lawyer.

Arizona is an at-fault state. This means that the person who caused the accident is liable for any damages. Having a lawyer on your side will make the process of proving you weren’t to blame simpler. Even if you are found partly responsible, your lawyer can still get you compensation.

Insurance companies will always try to pay as little as they can, so they may resort to threats and other tactics to get you to accept low-ball offers. With a personal injury lawyer helping you, you have the chance to get fair compensation for the damages you’ve sustained.

Motorcycle accident lawyers know how to investigate a case and can gather the right evidence to show who was at fault. This can be invaluable when dealing with a complex case that involves multiple parties.

Lawyers are also experienced with litigation, so if you’re not getting a fair deal, they can take your case to trial.

Call Gerber Injury Law for Legal Help in Arizona

Even if you do everything correctly and follow all of the laws of the road, accidents can still happen. Someone may look the wrong way at the wrong time, or your motorcycle may fall into another vehicle’s blind spot, leading to a collision.

If that occurs, you need to reach out to us at Gerber Injury Law in Arizona. We have over two decades of experience helping people who’ve been affected by someone else’s negligence.

With a 99% success rate and a record of having won more than $100 million in compensation from settlements and trials, we are a trusted firm in our community. When you turn to us, you’ll always be treated like family.

If you’ve been in a motorcycle accident, we’re ready to assess your case. Contact Gerber Injury Law for a free consultation.